Unfriended on Snapchat?: Here’s How to Tell if Someone Unadded you on Snapchat

| Updated on May 13, 2024 |
Fact checked by Manpreet Kaur Sandhu

Have you been in doubt that a friend of yours has unfriended you on Snapchat, as you haven’t received any snap streak or texts for so long? Well, if that’s the case, the platform won’t notify you regarding all this.  

Fear not; we’ll show you how to know if someone unadded you on Snapchat from their friend list. 

Quick Answer:

To find out if someone has unadded you, open Snapchat>> Search Bar>> Type their Username. They have unadded, removed, or blocked you if they don’t appear in the friend list. 

Does Snapchat Notify You When Someone Unfriends You?

Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t notify you when someone unfriends you. The platform only sends notifications when your friend adds a story, sends a snap streak or sends a message to you. This condition remains the same for both free and Snapchat Plus users. 

In addition, it might be a possibility that you won’t get to know for a longer time that a friend has removed you from their list. Depending on their privacy settings, you can still see their stories and texts.  

How To Tell If Someone Unadded You on Snapchat?: 7 Different Methods

Now that you know that, SC doesn’t notify you if someone has removed or unfriended you. So you must check it manually through your account. Here are a few signs that you should watch out for, how to know if someone deleted you on Snapchat.

Notes

Before moving on, please note that you should be at least 18 years old to send and receive texts, snaps, and more from non-friends.

Check your Friend List

Perhaps the very obvious way to find out if someone unadded you on Snap is to look over your friend list. For this, follow these steps:

  • Tap on your Bitmoji in the top left corner.
    Tap on your Bitmoji
  • Under Friends, hit My Friends.
    Tap on My Friends
  • Scroll down until you find them, or you can also search by their username in the search box. 
    Type their Name
  • If it says No Results, acknowledge that they have unfriended you. 
    No Results found

Check for the Small Grey X Symbol 

In Snapchat’s new updated version, it has been observed that a grey-colored X (cross symbol) will appear next to your friend’s name in the chat thread if they have unfriended you.  

A grey coloured X symbol

Check your Friend’s Snap Score

Another way to check out if someone has removed you from Snap is to look into whether their Snap score is visible or not. In that regard, the Snap score will only become visible if you have added someone, and they added back too. 

Here’s how to check it:

  • Open Snapchat.
  • Navigate to the search bar on the camera screen.
    Navigate to the Search Bar
  • Type their username.
    Type their username
  • If they appear on your friend list, you will be able to see their snap score just below their profile and if not, you won’t see it.
    Snap Score is not visible

In such a case, consider that they have unfriended you.

Check if your Snapstreaks are Pending

If you are passionate about maintaining a snapstreak on Snapchat, this will help you detect if someone has unfriended you. When someone unfriends you suddenly, the text and snap appear to be pending. To find out, follow the steps:

  • Open Snapchat.
  • Swipe left to head over to the chat thread.
  • If you see a “grey arrow icon” and a “Pending” label beside it, consider that they have removed you and haven’t seen your recent content. 
    Pending Label

Check Their Stories

If you are looking for how to know if someone unfriended you on Snapchat, the best bet is to look for their stories. Let us explain to you how.

  • Open Snapchat on your device.
  • Navigate to the Stories tab.
    Navigate to the stories tab
  • If their story appears under Friends, then you are on their friend list, but if not, sadly you are not friends with them anymore. 
    The story is visible under Friends

Notes

You will be still able to see the stories of the profiles that are public under the Subscription label.

Search for them in your Story Views 

Another clue for how do you know if someone deleted you on Snapchat is to observe whether they view your story or not. For this, try posting stories for some time and analyzing if there is a name in the story viewer or not. 

To check story views:

Open Snapchat>> Bitmoji Icon>> My Story>> Swipe Up>> Check the list of viewers

If you fail to find their name in the different stories, unfortunately, they have removed you and stopped interacting with your profile. 

Check out their Chat Window 

The last method for how do you know if someone has removed you from Snapchat is to check the chat window and observe if you can make a video and audio call with them. If not, then you will probably see a blue Add Friend icon instead of a call symbol. 

Add Friend Icon

That’s all! These are the assured methods for how to tell if someone deleted you on Snapchat. However, these will work regardless of what device you use, so you can try them on both Android and iOS devices. 

What Happens When Someone Unadded You on Snapchat?

When a Snapchat user blocks you or unadds you, it may create a wall between both parties. Your messages may go into the pending requests. However, this platform is way more than a texting app, so other niche activities like Snapstreak and stories will be affected.

Aside from this, you may be able to find their public profile by searching for them and again sending requests, unless they block you. 

After all, if you need to know how to know if someone unadded you on Snapchat, we have answered that in the next section.

Conclusion

To sum it up, if you are not able to spot a friend of yours in the Snapchat buddies list, then sadly they must have removed you, and now you have to figure out why on your own. Before reaching to any strong conclusion, note that the person might have also deleted their account, and in that condition, you will be able to locate them in your Snapchat.

FAQ

How do you know if someone has unfriended you on Snapchat?

To know if someone has unfriended you on Snapchat, you can check if they are still in your friend list or not.

What does it look like if someone unadded you on Snapchat?

When you open the chat window, you will see a blue add button in the top right corner instead of video and audio call symbols.

Can a person see my saved messages after removing me from their friend list on Snapchat?

No, they will not be able to see your saved messages after removing you, but you can still view the conversations.

Can you re-add a Snapchat friend who removed you?

Yes, you can re-add a Snapchat friend again by sending them a friend request. To do so, search for their username, and in the results, hit the Add Friend button next to them.


Muskan Saini

Social Media and Tech Expert


Related Posts
×