How to Delete Snapchat Story on Android and iPhone?

| Updated on August 31, 2026

Snapchat story is a feature where you can post photos and videos for your Snapchat friends and engage more people with your account. Snapchat stories last for 24 hours. 

But if you want to delete them before the 24-hour timeline for any reason, you need to learn how to delete Snapchat story with the help of images in this article.

How to Delete Snapchat Story on Android or iPhone?

Snapchat will permanently remove the story after you manually delete it, so always cross-check before deleting. You can delete a Snapchat story in just 5 simple steps mentioned below.  

 

Notes

The following steps work for both Android and iPhone.

  1. Open Snapchat and log in to your account
    Open Snapchat and log in to your account. 
  2. Select the story you want to delete. 
    Select the story you want to delete.
  3. Click on the three-dot menu. 
    Click on the three-dot menu. 
  4. Select the delete option.
    Select the delete option.
  5. Grant permission to delete.  
    Grant permission to delete.  

How to Hide Someone on Snapchat Story?

Sometimes you don’t want to show your stories to some people. For that, you can simply hide your story from them in just 4 easy steps. 

  1. Open Snapchat.
    Open Snapchat and go to your account icon in the top-left corner.
  2. Go to My Story and click on the three dots.
    Find the My Story section on your account where you can see the 3-dot icon.
  3. Open Story Settings.
    After opening the 3-dot menu, you can see two different options; look for Custom.
  4. Tap on Custom and select the people you want to hide the story from.
    Now you can see the list of those people who watch your stories. Filter out the people you don't want.

Conclusion 

Snapchat stories are a brilliant option to engage people and make them feel closer by sharing photos and videos. Sometimes you accidentally post the wrong photo or video on your Snapchat story and instantly looking up on the process for how to delete a Snapchat story. 

In this guide, we have elaborated the primary way that will delete your story in minutes. For a video solution for such problems, you can check out our GetAssist YouTube channel

FAQ

Can I delete a Snapchat story after 24 hours? 

No, you cannot delete a story after 24 hours because Snapchat automatically deletes the story. You can only manually delete a story within 24 hours after posting.

How long does a Snapchat story last?

Snapchat stories last for 24 hours. After 24 hours, Snapchat automatically removes the story from the platform, and users can’t see the story.

Can I delete multiple stories at once?

No, you can’t delete multiple stories at once. Snapchat doesn’t allow you to select multiple stories and delete it once. You need to select them one by one and delete them manually.

Can people take screenshots of my stories?

Yes, people can take screenshots or screen record your stories on Snapchat, but you will get the notification.

Does deleting a story remove it from Snapchat servers? 

Yes, after you delete your Snapchat stories, the snapchat remove it from their server, so there is no option of backup after deleting stories.


Janvi Panthri

Senior Writer, Editor


Related Posts

×
×