Even though the era of Facebook has been overtaken by other apps, there are still many of us who prefer to use it because of its simplicity. And one of the most important reasons to use it is to connect with our friends, duh! But what if you’re unable to do so?
What I mean is that you go out of curiosity to add your friend to see what he/she/they posted on Facebook only to find the “Add Friend” option missing. This has to be a joke, right? But sadly, it’s not.
Some users have been asking about not being able to see the “Add Friend” option on their friend’s profile or other people they want to add on Facebook. And demanding the fixes for the issue. So we are here with the solutions for you!
In this article, we are going to discuss the probable reasons why you’re unable to see the add friend option on people’s profiles and also discuss its methods using some easy steps. In order to get those, keep reading. Now let’s get right into it!
There can be many reasons why the “Add Friend” button is missing on someone’s profile on Facebook. Since Facebook allows its users to have control over who can see their posts and activity, who can find or add them, it can be possible for users to face some restrictions on other people’s profiles. Facebook also lets users customize their privacy settings. We have listed some reasons below for why the add button is not visible on Facebook:
There are some ways to prevent the temporary blocking of your account from Facebook: Don’t send numerous requests in a short time, use your real name, so people know you, and don’t mark your request as spam. And lastly, only send requests to your trusted contacts.
As shown in the image above, there are thousands of other users asking similar questions about the ‘Add Friend’ option disappearing sometimes. But, that is not the case.
It is not that it disappears or goes missing sometimes, but it is an option that can be customized as per people’s preferences in their privacy settings.
So, in order to get this error resolved, we have concluded some easy steps for you below through iPhone and Android.
If someone has set their Privacy Settings to ‘Friends of Friends’, then you can send any added friend a friend request. After the friend has accepted your friend request, the ‘Add Friend’ option will be visible to you, and you will be able to add that person since you are a friend of a friend (mutual friend) now.
However, if the option is not set to ‘Friends of Friends’, then you won’t be able to send a request to the user.
If the person has declined your friend request, then the ‘Add Friend’ option will only be visible after a few days or weeks. As mentioned earlier, the ‘Add Friend’ option will not be visible. This means you might have to wait for a few days or even weeks to send the person a friend request again. You will have to keep a check on when the option will be available again.
If you are an Android user, then tap on the three-dots menu from the top-right of your screen.
If the person you are trying to add does not have the ‘Add Friend’ option, then you can try following the given steps:
You will be able to follow the above steps only if the user has set their Privacy Settings to ‘Friends of Friends’ option for friend requests. If they haven’t, then you won’t be able to add them. Make sure they have enabled you to show their friend list to you.
There is a possibility that the user you’re trying to add has declined your friend request. Facebook doesn’t show if your request has been deleted by the other user and so, it makes the ‘Add Friend’ option invisible for a period of time. However, you can wait for a few days or weeks to be able to send the request again, when the ‘Add Friend’ option becomes visible.
If you have selected the ‘Add Friend’ option on someone’s profile, a friend request will get sent to that user. That person will have two options in their request folder – Confirm and Delete.
No, Facebook does not notify your added friends when you add a new friend. However, your friends will be able to see your friends list as per your choices and preferences in Privacy Settings.