
In large enterprises or organizations, data flows between every device daily. Tracking the movement of such information is already a difficult task, and the removal of the same proves to be an even tougher job.
Modern businesses can no longer rely on the “factory reset” approach, as that process only helps when there is one or two endpoints to be secured. But when dealing with multiple devices, the equation completely changes.
This guide highlights the hidden risks of relying on factory resets and why businesses should use advanced tools for secure data removal.
A factory reset deletes every file from the existing database or system, clearing out the storage and leaving behind an “empty” drive, making the device ready for use for newer functions.
This removes all personal data, custom settings, installed applications, and data, thereby restoring the software to its former version.
Additionally, this process is sometimes also done to improve the performance of the system, clearing out the cache and accumulated temporary files over the years.
Now the drive may look empty at first glance, but the formatting essentially hides or disables access to all of your data.
This means that your data isn’t permanently deleted and can be recovered using specialized software unless and until it’s overwritten by new file additions.
If your stored information is still recoverable by anyone using simple software, then that just means that your data can still be compromised and accessible, but just out of sight.
This vulnerable state must be avoided at all costs, as it may create major issues for an organization if the data falls into the wrong hands.

After you perform a factory reset to return a device to its original condition, your personal data, all associated and logged-in accounts (Google, Microsoft, Apple), and personalized system settings are removed and cannot be recovered.
But what can be recovered is:
This left behind information can end up causing a lot of compliance and legal trouble for the business when the data is recovered by an unauthorized individual or a hacker.
Did You Know?
While a factory reset wipes user-installed apps and the operating system, highly sophisticated malware that infects the low-level firmware of a device can sometimes survive the process.
The following are the best practices to follow, ensuring a secure data wipe:
These practices enable you to make better decisions regarding confidential information of the business, thereby preventing accidental leaks or disclosure of private data.
A business’s best bet lies in using certified data erasure software for secure data removal, as they offer industry-standard and globally recognized processes that ensure compliance.
This software uses NIST 800-88, DoD 5220.22-M, or other multi-pass overwrite functionalities to cryptographically erase the master encryption key itself, along with data removal to make the information completely useless, even if, on a rare occurrence, the leftover files do get found.

Modern businesses are switching to better and more refined alternatives to remove existing data from their databases, as they offer a complete and verified solution to safely wipe information without having to worry about the remote chances of the data getting compromised in the future.
Advanced techniques like these ensure that confidential data does not become accessible even after deletion, saving many businesses from major financial and reputation losses in this digitally-driven world.
The basic operating system data, pre-installed applications that come with the device, and partial fragments of personal information remain recoverable even after a factory reset.
It is always better to store information in solid-state drives because during the data deletion process, they overwrite existing files repeatedly, thereby minimizing the chances of info retrieval.
A factory reset just hides or disables access to the data until the information is overwritten. This can put an organization in an incredibly risky position where one wrong step may lead to the disclosure of sensitive documents.
The following are the best practices to ensure a secure data wipe:
No, it just removes the visible data, not the parts that hide deep down in the structure.
Things like saved passwords, documents and even app data can sometimes be recovered later.
Yes, even a small leakage of customer information can result in various security issues and legal troubles.