The eligibility requirements for the Six Sigma certification change depending on the belt level that you are aiming for. Before you can take the certification exam and get the Six Sigma belt, you need to fulfill the requirements for each level of the belt, which is a fresh set of requirements each time. The number of Six Sigma belts you already own, the amount of work experience you have, the amount of Six Sigma projects you have successfully completed, the roles and responsibilities you play in this Six Sigma project, and the length of time your certification has been valid are the eligibility requirements for Six Sigma. In this article, let us explore the eligibility criteria for Six Sigma Certification, specifically for a Six Sigma Green belt.

Why are Green Belts important?

Green Belts in the Six Sigma program are tasked with the responsibility of working on initiatives of a less complex nature that are geared toward the improvement of processes. They would be expected to dedicate less than half of their time to Six Sigma projects in the course of their regular employment. However, the tasks and responsibilities of a Six Sigma Green Belt will change depending on the firm that hires them. Green belt certification is offered by Simplilearn, and it adheres to the norms and guidelines established by IASSC.

Those individuals who will be tasked with upgrading already established systems are great candidates for the Green Belt certification. It’s possible that this is referring to processes that aren’t standardized or don’t have any metrics that have been set for them. Alternatively, the business may be attempting to decrease the number of mistakes that are made or the amount of time that is required to finish those operations.

Green belts are able members of a team, and their primary purpose is to improve the overall process’s quality. They contribute to the process of bridging the gap between the theory of Six Sigma and its execution in the actual world by contributing to the process. Candidates for the position of Six Sigma Green Belt play a significant role in the process of either managing the project, reviewing the data, or enhancing it. In addition to becoming familiar with the essential tools that are deployed by a project team, candidates for the Green Belt level receive education on how to apply DMAIC skills to a Six Sigma project.

Let’s have a look at the many stages that you will go through, as well as the Six Sigma certification requirements that you will need to fulfill in order to move on to the next step in some of those stages.

What are the Prerequisites to be a Green Belt?

You need to have worked at least full-time for a minimum of three years in order to be eligible for the Six Sigma Green Belt certification. In order to be eligible for the certification, the candidate’s principal occupation needs to fall into one of the categories that are described in the body of knowledge for the Green Belt. Internships and part-time jobs do not count toward eligibility, and the hours you put in at either one do not build up to a full-time job’s worth of work. You should spend some time thinking about your career path and the direction that you will take in the future in order to match better the work that you do with the Six Sigma training that you are receiving. You can accomplish this by writing down some of the objectives you have for your professional life, along with the steps you intend to take to realize those objectives.

A professional with extensive knowledge of the fundamental to advanced components of the Lean Six Sigma Methodology who, typically in a part-time capacity, leads improvement projects, and participates as a team member in more complicated improvement projects led by a Certified Black Belt. This professional is referred to as an IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt (ICGBTM).

This certification is bestowed to successful candidates by the International Association of Six Sigma Certification Bodies (IASSC). IASSC’s guidelines are followed by each and every one of Simplilearn’s classes and programs. The IASSC Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Body of Knowledge states that a person who possesses a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt has a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of the Lean Six Sigma Method. This understanding includes a level of expertise in the topics that are covered by the phases of Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control (DMAIC).

Exams Required to Obtain Certification

The IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Test is a proctored, closed-book exam that has a time constraint of three hours and comprises one hundred questions with multiple choice answers. The exam lasts for three hours. There is a possibility that some copies of the test will include up to 10 more questions; however, these questions will not be evaluated. The examination is proctored in more than 8,000 testing facilities located in 165 different countries, as well as by thousands of IASSC Accredited Providers and through the PeopleCert Online Proctoring system. This examination is comprised of around twenty true/false and multiple-choice questions, one from each important part of the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Body of Knowledge.


It is recommended that professionals have at least three to four years of full-time work experience as a minimum requirement. There is no way to get credit for internships or experience obtained through working part-time on projects. Candidates for the Six Sigma Green Belt certification need to have appropriate job experience, but in addition, they need to possess the following qualities:

• Unyielding tenacity and resolve

• A sensible and analytical mind.

 • A zeal for advancement and growth. 

• Skills in the art of leadership.

To be eligible to take the IASSC Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Exam, you do not need to have finished any of the necessary classes first.


The completion of Lean Six Sigma training from an approved school, a certified Lean Six Sigma trainer, or a corporate program is recommended for individuals who are interested in taking the exam; however, it is not required. Additionally, although having some level of practical Lean Six Sigma job experience and some level of project application experience is not required in order to take the exam, those who choose to do so do have some degree of both of these types of experiences. The IASSC provides candidates with the opportunity to take a Green Belt Evaluation Exam that is neither proctored nor official. If you are not very sure about whether or not you are prepared to take an official certification exam that is proctored, you may find out with the help of this test.

Certification Professionals will be awarded the IASSC Green Belt Certification if all requirements are successfully completed. This certification is granted by the International Association for Six Sigma Certification, which is a verifiable independent third-party Certification Association that works within the Lean Six Sigma Industry.